If on April 1st of this year somebody from the future had told me that this year's world series would feature two teams from the west I would have put everything I owned on the Los Angeles Dodgers vs the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim. And probably so would everyone else who predicted them to win their respected division. Why not? For the past two years both the Angels and Dodgers were not only the top teams in the west but also in their own leagues. They both got one step closer to the world series in 08 and 09. Last year we were closer than ever to a freeway series for the fall classic but they both fell to those beast from the east.
However, the 2010 season was one to forget about. LA's teams had issues far beyond the diamonds. The Dodgers had the whole McCourt divorce thing and Manny wasn't being Manny. And for the Angels, well they were just victims of freak accidents like Kendry Morales breaking his leg at at home plate after hitting a walk off grand slam.They just fell apart and never got it togehter.
But to a suprise in this years world series out of nowhere we get the Texas Rangers and the San Francisco Giants! Not quite the all west match up I was hoping for. I'm not saying they don't deserve to be there. The Rangers wiped the floor with us this year and the Giants got through a tough division (minus the Dodgers and D-Backs). I'm picking the Giants in seven games. They're both evenly matched up and the Rangers can beat you with that big inning they like to put up but I just think the Giants are pesky and that can go a long way in a seven game series. I'm not one of these fans that says "hey root for the team within my division." Forget that. I don't want to see the Rangers win. It may sound bush league but you think Red Sox fans were pulling for the Yankees? And I know you don't think Dodgers fans want to see the Giants win. So as an Angels fan I want them Giants to get it so that Dodgers fans can be miserable for all of next season instead of me when I go to the big A and texas is in town.
To be honest I really don't care who wins. When it's two teams that mean nothing to me all I can ask for is a good no holds bar seven game series. I'm really looking forward to game 1. Lee vs Lincecum, should be epic. Go Angels! (next year)